UTSA Powerlifting

UTSA Powerlifting

The UTSA Powerlifting team is a competitive club sport that represents The University of Texas at San Antonio.

Our goal is to provide an environment for students to further their knowledge of the sport, increase physical and mental strength, and to feed their competitive spirit.

We compete at the local and national level in the federation formally known as USA Powerlifting, a drug-free federation.

As a team, we have won six consecutive national titles, produced over 60 All-American Lifters, dozens of national champions, and world-class lifters.


Wes Zunker | Head Coach

Davion Aldridge | Assistant Coach

Richard Pena | Assistant Coach

Wes Zunker

Wes founded the UTSA Powerlifting Club in 2005. He served as the team president until he graduated in 2008.

Wes has served as head coach since 2008 and hosts team practices at his gym, Texas Strength Systems.

Student Officers

Tim Clairmont | President

Leann Ramirez | Vice President

Juan Gomez | Secretary

CJ Medina | Treasurer

Christina Peterson | Public Relations

Criselda Facundo | Recruiting Officer

Joel Garza | Recruiting Officer